The 2022 Stirling Prize Shortlist - Boodle Hatfield

Your lawyers since 1722

22 Jul 2022

The 2022 Stirling Prize Shortlist

Written by

Oliver Johnson View profile
Ruby Dyce View profile
2 min read

The Royal Institute of British Architects (RIBA) have this week announced their 2022 shortlist for the Stirling Prize.

Now in it's 26th year, the shortlist consists of the following projects:

  • 100 Liverpool Street - Hopkins Architects
  • Forth Valley College, Falkirk Campus - Reiach and Hall Architects
  • Hackney New Primary School and 33 Kingsland Road - Henley Halebrown
  • Orchard Gardens, Elephant Park - Panter Hudspith Architects
  • Sands End Arts and Community Centre - Mae Architects
  • The New Library, Magdalene College - Niall McLaughlin Architects

The shortlist this year is more London focused than previously, with 4 of the 6 entries being in the Greater London area. 

In a statement released with the shortlist, RIBA President Simon Allford praised the projects for their innovative solutions to the housing, energy and climate crises, and particularly for their approach in delivering a low-carbon future. This is in line with RIBA's 2030 Climate Challenge, helping architects aim to meet the 2030 net zero goal through a series of stepped goals. Indeed, the 100 Liverpool Street project becomes British Land’s first net zero carbon development. 

In addition to the noted environmental considerations, the shortlist also seeks to champion social and community enterprises with four of the entries having an educational purpose and providing new learning opportunities for their respective communities. This is reflective of the award's previous winners, with the 2021 Stirling Prize being awarded to a project at Kingston University. A further two entries provide affordable and mixed-use housing. Judges commented on the excellent "place-making" abilities of these schemes, by both responding to and enhancing their surroundings. 

None of the shortlisted architects have previously secured the coveted prize of the UK’s most prestigious architecture award, although some have been previously shortlisted. The winner will be announced on 13th October 2022.

"The six buildings contending for the coveted 2022 RIBA Stirling Prize have now been revealed."

Written by